What is world time

World Time, also known as Coordinated Universal Time (UTC), is the standard time used in various parts of the world. It is defined in relation to the Earth’s prime meridian, which passes through Greenwich in London, and is measured in hours, minutes and seconds deviating from that meridian.

World Time was created to simplify the coordination of time between different geographic regions. Different regions use their own time standards, such as standard time in the United States or daylight saving time in Europe, but world time is a common standard that can be used to determine the exact time anywhere on Earth.

World time is used in many industries, including telecommunications, navigation, and scientific research. It also plays an important role in international political and economic affairs, such as setting flight schedules and trade deals.

There are several time zones in world time, each differing from UTC by a certain number of hours. For example, the United Kingdom uses standard UTC+0 time, and the United States is divided into six time zones, each of which differs from UTC by a certain number of hours. To find out the exact time in any part of the world, you can use online resources such as world clocks or calendars, as well as time settings on mobile devices and computers.

For example, consider the time in the most populous countries: The standard time in India is called Indian Standard Time (IST) and is 5 hours and 30 minutes behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). The standard time in China is called China Standard Time (CST) and is 8 hours behind Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Universal time. World time online

World time now. Select any continent, country or city and get exact world time with seconds online, world time map.

As you know, our planet Earth is constantly rotating and has a diameter of 12,742 kilometers and a surface area of 510 million square kilometers. So that entails some consequences.

Such characteristics of our planet determine time difference in various places of the Earth. For example, there is daytime in one part of the world, while there is a night in the other one.

A country with a relatively small area would probably have a single timezone, which means a uniform standard time all over the country. Large countries generally have several time zones established in order not to get people confused.

France, for example, has the largest number of time zones, there are 12 of them there. Russia has 11 time zones. 167 countries of the world have only one time zone.

In order to create a uniform system of time determination, our planet was figuratively divided into 24 sectors – 24 time zones.

Primary information about the continents on planet Earth

There are six continents on the planet Earth:

  • Eurasia (Europe + Asia) is the largest continent with an area of 54.6 million square kilometers;
  • Africa is the hottest continent on Earth with an area of 30.3 million square kilometers;
  • North America is the continent which has the most rugged coastline with multiple bays and islands. It covers an area of 24.4 million square kilometers;
  • South America is the wettest continent with plenty of rains and an area of 17.8 million square kilometers;
  • Australia is the flattest continent in the world with an area of 7.7 million square kilometers;
  • Antarctica is the southernmost and the coldest continent on Earth with an area of 14.1 million square kilometers.

Why are there only 24 time zones?

  • Because the Earth makes a complete rotation in 24 hours, and there are 24 hours in a day;
  • Every 15° longitude represents one hour’s difference in time. Consequently, 15° multiplied by 24 make 360 degrees.

Nowadays exact time is regulated by Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). Coordinated Universal Time was introduced instead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT).

There are 24 time zones in the world, which have offsets ahead or behind UTC. For example:


It is important to note that UTC doesn’t change with a change of seasons. But if a time zone observes daylight saving time (or summer time), UTC time offset in summer would be different from UTC time offset in winter.

When daylight saving time is applied, local time changes.

Each country or region may switch to daylight saving at a different time.